[I am poem]

I am poem –
who can say
where I come from
I am morning
and evening star
where music
and meaning coïnside
where clouded mystery
and blatant truth reside
side by side
in the folds of syllables
and rhyme
and accidents
sublime
born of hearts
in extremis –
joy and sorrow
the same premise –
& like some lily of the field
I am shaped
only for delight
not high-octane yield.
I am no slut nor wanton
I am the zephyr of
supreme intelligence
and boundless
playfullness
unbounded –
angular
or rounded
& ever undaunted

.

.

Leave a Reply

